Howdy from Houston

Hi everyone. Thanks to @tx_shooter for inviting me here from the toyota-4runner.org forums. Here's my build thread on those forums: http://www.toyota-4runner.org/5th-gen-t4rs/248243-darens-excellent-vehicular-activity-thread.html

I'm new to offroading and overlanding, but I've done quite a bit of camping. I've got a 2016 TEP 4Runner with a tent on top and I'm looking for help finding trails. I'd like to find a few "novice" places to get started since I'll be bringing my wife and two kids (10-yr-old and 8-month-old). But eventually I hope to hit Big Bend and the TAT.

So if you have suggestions on places that are within a short drive of Houston, I'd appreciate it. Right now I just want to find some trails to test my truck out and places for a couple weekend trips to get my family going on camping. It seems like with the BLM land out west it's pretty easy to find places, but in Texas it seems like everything is private land. So I'm not sure how you find trails to drive on without some angry land owner shooting at trespassers :2guns:I appreciate any help.

Silverback

Lima Gulf Bravo Foxtrot Juliet Bravo
Welcome... lets see some pics of the T4R.

SecretSquirrel

Whale Oil Beef Hooked
Staff member
Yep. You've got a few mud parks north of town, or a 3hr ride to Hidden Falls.

Suggest taking a ride to Matagorda and test out the different modes to get a feel for the truck. If its been dry, the sand will be soft and it'll be a ton of fun.

What part of town you in?

Oswego

n00b
Welcome from NJ!

Go Eagles! lol

I live south of Houston in the Iowa Colony/Manvel area.

Is there anywhere specific you mean in Matagorda? I'm guessing you mean on the beach. Since I don't have any recovery gear yet, I might not try to get super stuck. Though I have been amazed by some of the crawl control recovery videos I've seen.

Here's a shot of my 4Runner with the tent deployed.

IMG_20171217_081127 (1).jpg

balakay

BabyMax